State of the Movement 2023: Shifting Capital and Power to Build the Regenerative Economy

We invite you to join us for Justice Funders annual convening.

In the face of multiple and intersecting political, economic, and climate crises – people powered movements across the globe are taking bold and courageous actions to build a radically different future. Incremental changes and reformist approaches are not sufficient to manifest the societal transformations we seek.

We join frontline BIPOC communities in the call for an investment framework that was strategically developed to advance Just Transition movements.

This framework requires philanthropic assets to be divested from the dominant financial system and instead redirected into movement-led, community-controlled institutions that build economic power and self-determination.

At this year’s State of the Movement convening, we will explore HOW philanthropic wealth should be invested and WHO should control it. Movement partners will share how they are using finance as a tool to build local regenerative economies and philanthropic partners will share how they are redirecting assets away from the extractive economy to support this critical work.

You will also be the first to access the *new framework* developed for foundation investors interested in pursuing this work: Shifting Capital and Power to Build the Regenerative Economy: A Just Transition Investment Framework for Philanthropic Institutions.

Grants alone will not resource our movements to the level they need to win large scale economic transformation. We must also look towards a Just Transition Investment strategy.

We hope you will join us for State of the Movement 2023 to conspire how we can abundantly steward resources to these movements.

Confirmed Speakers:

  • Mark Chavez, Climate Justice Alliance
  • Dino Foxx, Justice Funders
  • Chris Genese, Right to the City Alliance
  • Kat Gilje, Ceres Trust
  • Dana Kawaoka-Chen, Justice Funders
  • Annie McShiras, East Bay Permanent Real Estate Cooperative
  • Vanessa Roanhorse, Roanhorse Consulting
  • Rebekah Saul Butler, Grove Foundation
  • Olivia Watkins, Black Farmer Fund

Real-time live CART captioning in English and ASL interpretation will be available.

This session and newly released framework will be recorded and shared out, therefore you should RSVP even if you are not able to make it during the scheduled time.

Date: February 8, 2023
Address: Virtual
Duration: 2 hours
Time: 10 AM PT | 11 AM MT | 12 PM CT | 1 PM ET